top of page

Black Caps name T20 World Cup squad

Tim Southee will lead an experienced Black Caps team to the T20 World Cup
Kane Williamson will lead an experienced Black Caps to the T20 World Cup, with veteran Tim Southee in the side. PHOTO: DAVE LINTOTT PHOTOGRAPHY

Kane Williamson will lead a Black Caps squad with a wealth of tournament experience to the ICC T20 World Cup, starting in the West Indies and United States in June. 

It will be Williamson’s sixth appearance in a T20 World Cup squad and his fourth tournament as captain.


His experience is bettered only by Tim Southee, who has earned selection in his seventh T20 World Cup squad and currently is the leading wicket taker in the history of T20 Internationals. 

Further to the experience offered by Williamson and Southee, Trent Boult has been selected in his fifth T20 World Cup squad.

The squad also boasts significant recent experience in the conditions with 13 of the 15-man group featuring on the team’s last tour to the West Indies in 2022.

As well as that, six of the squad have also featured in the Caribbean Premier League T20 competition.  

Bowler Matt Henry and batting all-rounder Rachin Ravindra are the only two members of the 15 without ICC T20 World Cup experience.

Alongside the 15 players selected in the tournament squad, pace bowler Ben Sears will travel and train with the team as injury cover. 

The squad has limited wicket keeping available with Devon Conway expected to be behind the stumps and possibly Finn Allen as reserve.

Adam Milne was ruled out following surgery to repair an ankle injury, and Kyle Jamieson was also unavailable for selection as he continues to rehabilitate his back injury. 

Black Caps coach Gary Stead said naming a squad for a pinnacle event was always an exciting time. 

“I'd like to congratulate everyone named today. It’s a special time representing your country at a world tournament.

“We expect the venues in the West Indies to offer quite varied conditions and feel we’ve selected a squad with the scope to adapt to those conditions.”

Stead said he was delighted to name two players for an ICC T20 World Cup the first time, in Henry and Ravindra.

"Matt has worked exceptionally hard on his skills across the phases of a T20 game to come back into selection consideration," he said.

“Rachin has made every post a winner in the  past 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia.”  

Four players - Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham and Ish Sodhi - played in the recently-completed Pakistan T20 tour.


Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman,

Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham,

Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Travelling reserve: Ben Sears


bottom of page