top of page

Warriors players return for Dolphins clash

Updated: May 23

The Warriors have plenty of changes to their lineup to face the Dolphins
Will the Warriors be celebrating again when they face the Dolphins in Round 12? PHOTO: NRL

The NZ Warriors have bought back Marata Niukore, Rocco Berry, Freddy Lussick and Chanel Harris-Tavita from injury for NRL Round 12 against the Dolphins at Mt Smart on Sunday evening.

Centre Berry (hand), second rower Niukore (foot), hooker Lussick (concussion) and utility Harris-Tavita (calf) have been named in the extended squad for the club’s first match on home soil since the Anzac Day contest against the Gold Coast Titans.


While those four players come off the injury list, hooker Wayde Egan (concussion) and centre Ali Leiataua (ankle) join the casualties.

Egan is following NRL protocols after a head knock early in Sunday’s clash against the Panthers forced him out of the game. With the club having a bye in Eound 13, Egan will be in line to make his return for the away match against North Queensland on June 8.

Rookie Leiataua, playing just his second NRL fisture, was a try-scoring hero in the 22-20 win over the Panthers but picked up an ankle injury which is set to keep him out until early July.

Egan and Leiataua, captain Tohu Harris, halfback Shaun Johnson, centre Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, second rower Kurt Capewell and standoff Luke Metcalf remain in recovery. With some reinforcements coming back.

Warriors head coach Andrew Webster has Berry back in the centres, where he has been for 10 of the club’s 11 games this year, while Lussick is named to start at hooker, Niukore on the interchange and Harris-Tavita on the extended bench.

The powerful Niukore is eyeing just his second game of the season after last playing in the round four home win against Newcastle. Harris-Tavita’s last outing was the Round 6 draw with Manly.

With Johnson out, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad is again named at standoff and Taine Tuaupiki at fullback with Dylan Walker starting at loose forward for the unavailable Harris

NZ WARRIORS: Taine Tuaupiki, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Rocco Berry, Adam Pompey, Marcelo Montoya, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Te Maire Martin, Addin Fonua-Blake, Freddy Lussick, Bunty Afoa, Jackson Ford, Mitch Barnett (c), Dylan Walker. Interchange: Tom Ale, Jazz Tevaga, Jacob Laban, Marata Niukore. Reserves: Paul Roache, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Zyon Maiu’u, Edward Kosi, Moala Graham-Taufa


bottom of page