top of page

Evans misses Formula-E win; Cassidy leads

New Zealand Jaguar drivers Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy finished out off the podium in  Formula E round 13
Jaguar drivers Mitch Evans (left) and Nick Cassidy (right) didn't have the greatest race in Formula E round 13 PHOTO: JAGUAR TCS RACING

A five second penalty has cost Mitch Evans the win in the Portland E-Prix, while fellow Kiwi Nick Cassidy still leads the overall series

Championship leader Cassidy looked locked in and ready to take the win, and extend his championship points gap even further, but an uncharacteristic mistake led to him going off on the grass on the penultimate lap.


The error saw him fall down the grid and would ultimately finish in 19th. 

Evans inherited the lead from his teammate, but also had troubles of his own as the Jaguar driver had been handed a penalty earlier in the race. After contact with the NEOM McLaren of Jake Hughes,

After starting in pole, Evans was given a five-second time penalty which demoted him from first at the line to eighth. 

Porsche driver Antonio Felix da Costa was the eventual winner, his third victory of the season.

Cassidy is first on the standinds with Evans third Pascal Wehrlein from Germany is second.


bottom of page