top of page

NZ Warriors keep it consistent for Bulldogs

The Warriors have the same 17 selected to face the Bulldogs this weekend
Will it be celebration time again for the Warriors when they come up against the improving Bulldogs. PHOTO: NRL

NZ Warriors head coach Andrew Webster has retained the same 17 players used in last week’s win over the Brisbane Broncos for the club’s clash against the Canterbury Bulldogs.

The Round 18 NRL match will be played on Saturday at 5pm NZ time at Accor Stadium in Sydney.


After being named on the bench but ultimately starting against Brisbane, back rower Kurt Capewell is this week listed in the run-on side for his 150-game milestone appearance.

The 30-year-old Queensland Origin representative will be playing his 11th game for the

club following 64 matches for the Cronulla Sharks from 2016-2019, 32 for the Penrith Panthers in 2020-2021 and 43 for the Broncos in 2022-2023.

He has been paired in the second row with Marata Niukore while New South Wales Origin forward Mitchell Barnett is selected in the front row where he started against the Broncos.

Captain Tohu Harris is again named at loose forward although he again came off the bench in the 32-16 win over Brisbane.

The backline is unchanged but there is some movement on the extended bench with the

promising duo of Ali Leiataua – coming back from an injury lay-off – and Leka Halasima named alongside Jacob Laban, Taine Tuaupiki and Bunty Afoa.

While the Warriors are coming off an exceptional turnaround, rebounding from a 6-66

loss to the Titans to beat the Broncos 32-16, they face a searching test against a

resurgent Canterbury Bankstown

The Bulldogs are running fifth in the competition on 20 points having won four of its last five matches. The Warriors are three points behind in 13th spot on a congested table.

The Warriors have won the last six encounters with the Bulldogs and eight of the last 10

since 2016 but Canterbury is vastly improved this year after finishing 15th last season.

NZ WARRIORS: Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Adam Pompey, Marcelo Montoya, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Te Maire Martin; Addin Fonua-Blake, Wayde Egan, Mitchell Barnett, Marata Niukore, Kurt Capewell, Tohu Harris. Interchange: Freddy Lussick, Dylan Walker, Jazz Tevaga, Jackson Ford. Reserves: Jacob Laban, Taine Tuaupiki, Ali Leiataua, Bunty Afoa, Leka Halasima


bottom of page