top of page

Southern League sides out of Chatham Cup

Coastal Spirit Chatham Cup football
Coastal Spirit scored three goals in the opening half-hour against Cashmere Technical. PHOTO: COASTAL SPIRIT

Recent Chatham Cup winners Christchurch United and Cashmere Technical have been bounced from the national knockout competition.

Defending champions Christchurch United fell 3-2 to Nomads United and Cashmere Technical, the 2021 winners, dropped a 3-1 result against Coastal Spirit in the second round in Christchurch on Saturday.


Flynn Holdem scored two goals for Nomads United, in the 47th and 70th minutes, to shock the three-time reigning Southern League champions at Tulett Park.

Angus McIntryre opened the scoring in the 36th minute, before Holdem's first put Nomads up 2-0. David Yoo got one back for Christchurch in the 65th minute but Holdem restored the two-goal lead soon after. Joel Stevens scored four minutes from time but Nomads held out.

Jake Hale, Joe Hoole and Apisai Rabuka scored goals for Coastal inside the opening half-hour, while Lyle Matthysen scored for Cashmere, who suffered their first loss in 11 matches this season.

Fellow Southern League club Nelson Suburbs became the first New Zealand Football National League regional club to go out at the hands of a lower-tier team, losing 2-1 to FC Nelson in a derby match at Saxton Fields on Sunday.

La Bu Pan scored a second-half double for FC Nelson of the Nelson Premiership Division 1, with goals in the 69th and 76th minutes, after Josh Moffat scored the opener in the 18th minute, to spring the upset.

Nomads United Chatham Cup football
Nomads United's squad were ecstatic after defeating Christchurch United. PHOTO: NOMADS UNITED

Just four of the eight clubs remaining in the Southern region play in the Southern League, with the Southern Premiership's Northern AFC, Otago University and Roslyn Wakari also still alive.

Ferrymead Bays knocked out UC Football 2-1 in Christchurch, while Dunedin City Royals rolled Wanaka 4-1 in Dunedin, with two goals from Nicholas Zambrano.

Contrastingly, all eight clubs still alive in the Central region come from the Central League, led by big wins by Napier City Rovers, Miramar Rangers, Western Suburbs and Wellington Olympic.

Jonathan McNamara scored four goals and Sam Lack a hat-trick in Napier City's 10-0 victory over Palmerston North Marist. Both players had hat-tricks by halftime as Rovers led 9-0, before calling off the dogs, with McNamara getting his final goal in the 76th minute.

Spencer Cameron scored two goals in Miramar's 6-0 victory over Tawa, Victoria University's Simon Davies scored two own-goals in a 6-0 loss to Suburbs and Kaelin Nguyen netted a double in Olympic's 4-0 win over Seatoun.

In the Northern region, Auckland City had no issues in a 5-0 victory over Metro FC, with Cam Howieson scoring two, in their first match since winning their 12th OFC Champions League title.

Reid Drake scored a hat-trick, with strikes in the eighth, 27th and 90th minutes, and Emiliano Tade two goals in Western Springs' 7-0 triumph over Northern Rovers, while Matthew Brown banged in two goals in Hamilton Wanders' 6-1 victory over South Auckland Rangers.

Ten of the 12 Northern League clubs advanced through the second round, with just West Coast Rangers and East Coast Bays eliminated. Birkenhead United took out WC Rangers 4-1 and Eastern Suburbs topped ECB 2-1.

Feature matches for the third round of the Chatham Cup, to be played June 15-16, include a top-four Northern League clash between Springs and Eastern Suburbs, and a top-two Central League battle between Olympic and Western Suburbs.

Three non-National League regional clubs are guaranteed to reach the fourth round, with Ellerslie vs Onehunga Mangere and Hibiscus Coast vs Taupo in the Northern region, and Northern vs Otago University in the Southern region.

Auckland United Women Kate Sheppard Cup football
Auckland United eased to a 7-0 win over Cambridge in the Kate Sheppard Cup. PHOTO: AUCKLAND UNITED

In the women's Kate Sheppard Cup, six of eight NRFL Women's Premier moved on, while the two to be knocked out - Fencibles United and Hamilton Wanderers - were defeated by teams from their own division.

Rene Wasi scored a hat-trick and Angela Pivac two goals in Auckland United's 7-0 victory over Cambridge, while Millie Boyle netted a late pair as Eastern Suburbs survived with a 4-3 win against Wanderers.

Phoenix Reserves striker Olivia Ingham also scored a hat-trick and Alyssha Eglinton twice in a 9-0 victory over Seatoun, while Ellen Fibbes netted a pair of first-half strikes in Petone's 5-1 win over Upper Hutt City.

The feature match of the Round of 16 on June 15-16 is a top-three NRFL Women's Premier clash between leaders Auckland United and Eastern Suburbs.



Birkenhead United 4 West Coast Rangers 1 Cambridge 4 Northern United 2

Ellerslie 1 Waikato Unicol 0

Eastern Suburbs 2 East Coast Bays 1 Onehunga Mangere 4 Otumoetai 0

Auckland City 5 Metro 0

Manurewa 3 Waiheke United 0

Melville United 3 North Shore United 2

Taupo 3 Waitemata 2

Hibiscus Coast 3 Bucklands Beach 2

Tauranga City 3 Fencibles United 1

Western Springs 7 Northern Rovers 0

Bay Olympic 1 Manukau United 0

Hamilton Wanderers 6 South Auckland Rangers 1 Central United 5 Beachlands Maraetai 0

Auckland United 4 Ngaruawahia United 1


Wellington Olympic 4 Seatoun 0

Petone 2 Island Bay United 1

Western Suburbs 6 Victoria University 0 Waterside Karori 2 Upper Hutt City 1

Miramar Rangers 6 Tawa 0

Napier City Rovers 10 Palmerston North Marist 0

North Wellington 4 Phoenix Reserves 1 Stop Out 1 (5) Massey University 1 (4)


Ferrymead Bays 2 UC Football 1 Dunedin City Royals 4 Wanaka 1 Nomads United 3 Christchurch United 2 Coastal Spirit 3 Cashmere Technical 1 Otago University 1 Green Island 0 Roslyn Wakari 6 Northern Hearts 1 Northern 5 Mosgiel 4 FC Nelson 2 Nelson Suburbs 1



Hibiscus Coast 11 Uni-Mount Bohemian 1

Franklin United 6 Waikato Unicol 3

West Coast Rangers 1 Fencibles United 0

Western Springs 3 Tauranga Moana 1

Ellerslie 3 Birkenhead United 0

Eastern Suburbs 4 Hamilton Wanderers 3

Northern Rovers 3 (3) Onehunga 3 (1)

Auckland United 7 Cambridge 0


Petone 5 Upper Hutt City 1

Palmerston North Marist 4 Te Kotahitanga 1

Waterside Karori 4 Miramar Rangers 1

Phoenix Reserves 9 Seatoun 0


Dunedin City Royals 2 Roslyn Wakari 0

Otago University 3 Queens Park 0

Cashmere Technical 6 Coastal Spirit 0

Nelson Suburbs beat NW United by default


bottom of page