top of page

NZ learn opponents for FIFA Under-20 WWC

The draw has been made for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup  with New Zealand in a pool containing Japan, Austria and Ghana
The trophy for the winners of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in Colombia PHOTO: FIFA

New Zealand will face Japan, Ghana and Austria in their pool at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Colombia later this year.

The tournament takes place from August 31 – September 22, 2024 with 24 nations competing in three host cities, Bogotá, Cali and Medellín.


New Zealand qualified after winning the 2023 OFC U-19 Women’s Championship. Their opponents Japan were runners-up in the AFC U-20 Women's Asian Cup and will play in their eighth tournament.

Austria are making their first appearance at the event and are the fifth ranked team out of UEAFA qualifiers.

The matches against Japan and Austria will bother be hosted at the El Techo Stadium in Bogota

The last nation in the group, Ghana and are in their sixth tournament, but have yet to progress into the knockout stages.

The clash with Ghana will be held in Cali, the city in the southwest of Colombia.

The 2024 tournament will be New Zealand’s ninth their best previous performance was reaching the quarter-finals in 2014.


Game to be played on Tuesday September 3, 2024 (NZT)

Japan v New ZealandEl Techo Stadium, Bogotá, 1pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Friday September 6, 2024 (NZT)

Austria v New ZealandEl Techo Stadium, Bogotá, 1pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Monday September 9, 2024 (NZT)

New Zealand v GhanaPascual Guerrero Stadium, Cali, 11am (NZT)


bottom of page