top of page

Mitch Evans wins race one in Shanghai

Updated: May 26

Mitch Evans won while Nick Cassidy was third in Round 11 at the Shanghai  E-Prix
Mitch Evans chose his time and then took over the lead to win at the Shanghai E-Prix. PHOTO: FORMULA E

New Zealand and Jaguar drivers, Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy continue to dominate Formula E this season with a win and a podium finish at the Shanghai E-Prix Round 11.

Evans started third and hit the front early, on Lap 7, working his way by polesitter Jean-Eric Vergne and Nissan's Oliver Rowland plus the Porsches of Pascal Wehrlein and Antonio Felix da Costa,


At the halfway stage, Lap 16 - the Porsches, Wehrlein from da Costa, took back to the lead.

However, on Lap 19, Evans had a percent of energy in-hand and managed to slice by da Costa through Sector 1, while the sister Jaguar TCS Racing of standings leader Nick Cassidy had two percent energy over the leaders ahead.

Four laps later Cassidy had crept up to fourth, and had three percent energy on the lead trio of Wehrlein, Evans and da Costa.

Reigning champion Jake Dennis (Andretti) briefly fired himself into the lead quartet before the Jaguars' energy advantage made itself clear - Cassidy making it by da Costa for third as the laps ticked down.

Wehrlein was two percent down on energy to the Jaguars and was forced into all the defensive manoeuvres in the book to hold the pair back. The decisive move for the lead did eventually come, with Evans breaking the German's resistance on the final lap after a failed move at the hairpin a lap prior.

Evans ran all the way around the outside of Wehrlein to swoop into P1 and held fast to the flag, while the Porsche fended off the final turn advances of Cassidy - the championship leader settling for third, clipping his nose at the last and having to see off Oliver Rowland's late lunge for the podium.

Da Costa came home fifth, Dennis sixth and Vergne only seventh from first on the grid.

Race 12 is Sunday afternoon.

Cassidy leads Wehrlein in the drivers' table by 13 points, with 155, with Rowland third on 130. Jaguar TCS Racing's advantage in the teams' championship is now 66 points.


bottom of page