top of page

Kiwis ready for Badminton Horse Trials

Updated: May 9

Caroline Powell is one of the New Zealand riders ready for the Badminton Horse Trials
Caroline Powell and Greenacres Special Cavalier are chasing glory at the CCI5*-L MARS Badminton Horse Trials this week. PHOTO: LIBBY LAW PHOTOGRAPHY

New Zealand's riders are ready for, one of the world’s toughest three-day events as the Badminton Horse Trials gets underway.

Kiwi combinations having won the top prize seven times and many times been on the podium. With it being an Olympic year, the world’s best are hunting down top results, and the New Zealand riders heading to Badminton are no different.


Caroline Powell, Tim and Jonelle Price, Jesse Campbell and amateur Lauren Innes are the kiwis competing.

London bronze medal-winning Olympian Caroline Powell has two entered in her star Greenacres Special Cavalier and 5* debutant CBI Aldo. Eleven-year-old Irish-bred mare Greenacres Special Cavalier placed fifth at Pau 5* and sixth at Maryland 5*.

Powell has 16 Badminton completions to her credit. Her best effort was fourth on her Burghley-winning horse Lenamore who had finished Badminton seven times – one of just four horses to have done that many.

Three-time Olympian and 5* victor Jonelle Price is in on Badminton debutant Grappa Nera, who she’s previously won the Pau 5*.

Former world No 1Tim Price has nine Badminton completions under his belt with four 5* wins in the trophy cabinet. So far Badminton has eluded the two-time Olympian, who won an individual bronze at the 2022 World Champs, with his best effort so far a third.

Tokyo Olympian Jesse Campbell is in aboard Cooley Lafitte, with amateur Lauren Innes starting Global Fision M for the third time at Badminton.

New Zealand has a great history with Badminton. Jonelle Price was the last New Zealander to win when she rode Classic Moet to victory in 2018.

Prior to that, Andrew Nicholson and Nereo (2017), Jock Paget aboard Clifton Promise (2013), and Sir Mark Todd on NZB Land Vision (2011), Bertie Blunt (1996), Horton Point (1994) and Southern Comfort III (1980) are all etched on the winner’s trophy. ESNZ eventing coach Sam Griffiths has also previously won it (2014).

It’s the 75th running of the iconic event which was originally started by the 10th Duke of Beaufort. Eleven nations will be represented and included in the 87 acceptances are 19 first-timers.

The 2024 edition gets underway on Wednesday (UK time) with the dressage which continues through Friday, with the Eric Winter-designed cross country on Saturday and showjumping on Sunday.



Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page